Meet the people who lead RSPCA South Australia

RSPCA South Australia is governed by a Board of elected directors who volunteer their time to preside over the organisation. The Board meets regularly to establish our long-term strategic direction, approve and monitor organisational performance against budgets, plans and policies, and ensure RSPCA South Australia acts lawfully and responsibly.

Paul Stevenson, Chief Executive Officer

Arriving at RSPCA South Australia in early 2017, Paul brings years of senior executive experience. He previously held leadership positions at Mitsubishi Motors Australia, Phoenix Society and the Australian Centre for Plant Functional Genomics. Paul’s lifelong passion for animal welfare began as a child, when he became a junior RSPCA member. In 2017 he adopted two “incredibly spoiled” kittens named Persia and Midnight.

Rob DiMonte, President


Rob is a chartered accountant and professional company director. He has held many board roles over the past 35 years and is currently a director of The Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium of South Australia, The Australian Centre for Social Innovation, GP Partners Australia, Australian Grain Technologies Pty Ltd, the Chartered Accountants Benevolent Foundation and other advisory boards. He is passionate about improving the social and economic wellbeing of South Australians.

Jill Bottrall, Board Member

A former journalist turned political communications and policy adviser, Jill spent 23 years in politics in Victoria and South Australia. While working for former SA premier Mike Rann, animal welfare was a major focus for Jill. Since 2015, she has been NBN Local manager for SA and NT, and is also our state representative on the RSPCA Australia Board. Jill has an elderly cat named Saffie and two free-range rescue bunnies, Nigel and Dolce.

Marcus Gehrig, Board Member

Marcus’s broad-ranging business career includes expertise in fundraising, business development, strategic planning, marketing and brand development. He has spent more than a decade in executive roles across the private, corporate and not-for-profit sectors. In 2007 he joined Guide Dogs SA.NT and helped grow fundraising profitability by over 600 per cent. In 2013, he joined Minda – one of the largest non-government disability support organisations in South Australia – as an executive manager.

Dr Andrew Carter, Board Member

Andrew is a veterinarian who operates a referral dermatology clinic in Norwood. He has a keen interest in animal welfare, serving on an Animal Welfare Committee for an SA university, and is a strong advocate for education and prevention. Andrew joined our board in 2015 and serves on several committees and advisory groups.

Leanna Read, Board Member

Leanna brings extensive research, executive and investment experience, particularly in biotechnology. She is CEO and Chair of the Cooperative Research Centre for Cell Therapy Manufacturing, and the immediate past Chief Scientist for South Australia. Animal welfare in the agricultural sector and broader community is a major priority for Leanna. She is also the proud owner of RSPCA graduate, Ahmani.

RSPCA board member Paul Hutchinson

Paul Hutchinson, Board Member

Paul’s career has spanned more than 30 years in the financial services sector in Australia, New Zealand and the broader international marketplace. He is currently the University of Adelaide’s Faculty of the Professions executive director and most recently served as managing director and chief executive officer of Rural Bank.

Stephen Voss, Board Member

Stephen is a lawyer and partner at national law firm Thomson Geer. Stephen was a board member of Thomson Geer for more than eight years, and the national leader for the firm’s dispute resolution department. Stephen acts for a number of national and international institutional corporations. He’s the proud owner of a dog named Nelson.

Susan Hazel

Susan Hazel, Board Member

BVSc, BSc(Vet), PhD, GradCert(Public Health), GradCert(Higher Education), MANZCVS

Susan is a veterinarian by training and an academic at the University of Adelaide, School of Animal & Veterinary Sciences, where she teaches animal behaviour, animal welfare and ethics. She is a member of the Dog & Cat Management Board of SA, the Animal Welfare Advisory Committee of SA and the Animal Wellness and Welfare Committee of the World Small Animal Veterinary Association (WSAVA). Susan’s research interests centre on human-animal interactions with a goal to improve both animal and human welfare.

Sheenagh Edwards

Sheenagh Edwards, Board Member


Kate Gray, Board Member

Kate is the Director – Research for Colliers and is the national lead researcher for Economics and Capital Market Investment. She has a Bachelor of Economics and a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Adelaide and has worked in a range of marketing and analyst roles in FMCG, retail and property. She is also the Chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee for the Property Council. At home, she has two dogs: a mini schnauzer named Scout and a spoodle named Leo.

Professor Chris Daniels, Board Member

BSc (Hons), PhD, DSc, FAICD

As CEO of the International Koala Centre of Excellence and Chief Strategic Advisor to Cleland Wildlife Park, Chris brings a wealth of experience to the board. In 2020 he was appointed Presiding Member of the Green Adelaide Landscape Board for the Government of South Australia, highlighting his passion for wildlife conservation and connecting with nature. He devotes his downtime to his Golden Retriever, Mara.